Loading...
Parallax2 2017-09-25T15:52:01+00:00

NEWEST RELEASE

Willow Jane wakes every morning to a dead girl standing beside her bed. Thousands of ravens and crows flock to her windows, blocking out the sky. An ancient evil called the Shadowless rises from the grave, and one by one, Willow Jane’s friends start to die.

Can you hear the Shadowless, when her breath is in your ear?

READ UNCANNY NOW
0
Words in the Book
0
Words Cut from the Final Draft
0
Days of Butt in Chair
0
Cups of Coffee

Publications

 YA, Sci-fi, Horror, Novellas, Stories, Essays, Podcasts, How-Tos.

Uncanny

When a bolt of lightning causes a Boston-wide blackout on her sixteenth birthday, Willow Jane doesn’t think anything of it—until she begins stopping time, until she comes face-to-face with her menacing familiar, until her sister disappears. But these aren’t the only strange and horrifying things to come out of the storm. An ancient witch named the Shadowless has awoken and escaped from her crypt, and she’s thirsting for revenge.

A horrifying stand-alone novel, this original and sinister spin on gothic tradition will appeal to fans of ItRot & Ruin, AsylumAmerican Horror Story: Coven, and The Walking Dead.

Black Hole Sun

Mars stinks.

On an almost terraformed planet named for the god of war, a forgotten town of abandoned miners is attacked by a roving pack of cannibalistic creatures. They have no choice–to survive, they must fight. To fight, they need help, and no one is willing to help–except Durango and his crew of disgraced soldiers. But when they arrive in the mines, Durango’s crew finds more than they bargained for. On a world where everything is trying to kill you, the most dangerous threat just might be someone you love.

Invisible Sun

Mars roars.

Durango has lost his crew and his father, but he still has his second-in-command, Vienne, for now, anyway. And they have a mission: discover everything—absolutely everything—about the secret government project his father was desperate to cover up. Not to mention that Durango’s determined to prove himself to Vienne even if he dies trying. As he races through flood and fire and across a violent and terrifying planet, there’s a 97% chance he’s going to die trying.

The chase is on.

Shadow the Sun

Characters return, new characters are introduced, and the action never stops. Readers embraced the first two books in acclaimed author David Macinnis Gill’s trilogy about Durango, Mimi (his nano-implant with a biting wit), and Vienne (his second-in-command), calling the books non-put-downable, thrilling, funny, and totally satisfying.

A surefire bet for fans of dystopian sci-fi, from The Hunger Games to Battlestar Galactica. Cinematic action, rapid-fire dialogue, a futuristic setting on a terraformed Mars, and tragic romance—Shadow on the Sun is an unstoppable adrenaline rush!

Rising Sun

Before the draeu. Before Lime. Before the hammer fell.  Jacob Stringfellow, aka Durango, once had a promising career in the elite armed forces. That was before. Before he almost died and had an artificial intelligence flash-cloned to his brain. Now Durango and Mimi (the AI) are figuring out how to get along and figuring out how to stay in the game. Set on a violent and unforgettable dystopian Mars, this is a must read for fans of the author’s Black Hole Sun series and for anyone who loves intense, action-packed science fiction.

Rising Sun is a stand-alone short novel, a prequel to David Macinnis Gill’s acclaimed Black Hole Sun series.

Soul Enchilada

Repossession is 9/10ths of the law.

Girl meets boy at a car wash. And probably this would have been a sweet teen romance . . . except that the girl’s grandfather sold his soul for a classic Cadillac and he used her soul as collateral, too. Which the devil has come to collect, along with the car. Now eighteen-year-old Bug Smoot has to fight for both. Good thing she knows how to fight dirty. Good thing nothing frightens Bug Smoot: not the repo man, not the paranormal creatures, not séances or driving too fast. And good thing that boy from the car wash is actually a supernatural secret agent.

This is one hell of a tale.

Stories

This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in.

Essays

This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in.

5-Minute Poems

I’m part of a group that writes 5-minute poems. Every Friday, somebody sends out a prompt, and we write a poem. I write poems using my characters’ voices. It’s a good way to get into their heads.  Sometimes I post them. These aren’t good poems, but it didn’t kill me to write them.

Plotcasters

This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in.

Craft Articles

This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in.

Journal Articles

This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in. This is text that needs to be filled in.

Reader Reviews

“Rockets Readers to New Frontiers.”

Hunger Games author Suzanne Collins on Black Hole Sun

Nonstop action…awaits with every turn of the page, making this a quick read. …Fans of Daniel Kraus’ Rotters and Scowler will dive into Uncanny and demand more.

New York Journal of Books

Those who enjoy horror will appreciate…The plethora of curses, curse blocks, and other elements inspired by Scottish folklore will enthrall fans of the supernatural, as will scenes in which Willow Jane manipulates time in order to achieve different outcomes.

School Library Journal

“Black Hole Sun grabbed me by the throat and didn’t let go until the last page. In the best tradition of Heinlein and Firefly, Black Hole Sun is for readers who like their books fast-paced, intense, and relentless. Buy it, read it, pass it on!”

Laurie Halse Anderson

“Readers will have a hard time turning the pages fast enough as the body count rises to the climactic, satisfying ending, which will leave new fans hopeful for more adventures.”

Cindy Dobrez, Booklist(starred review)

“Science-fiction fans will cheer Durango on in his exploits and enjoy the twists in the novel’s satisfying conclusion.”

School Library Journal (starred review)